Silent Whispers

Chasing Illusionary Butterflies!

Why Should You Watch a Movie Alone

Posted by Mrityunjay on August 12, 2010

Few months back, I got an opportunity to watch the monstrous hit of the century, “Avatar” in the theatre with 3 friends of mine. Yes, you can ask me about, was Avatar my last movie in a cinema hall? Yes, it was. Boggled? Okay, don’t be! I will tell my reason for why I did not watch any other movie in theater since then, later in the post. Now, coming back to my ‘Avatar’ experience, the film was of course as entertaining as movie critics, reviews and friends would have me believe but there were quite a few things that perturbed me during my movie experience.

First things first. If the movie was supposed to begin at 1.00 PM, it has to start at 1.20 PM simply because they will have us bombarded with cheesy adverts and hilarious trailers and of course, make us stand on our National Anthem. Yes, that’s the only time we are supposed to listen and respect the ‘Jana Gana Mana’ anthem. You are expected to be silent, attentive, tuned and respectful and if you are not, within few seconds, you will have to face unfriendly stares and you never know, someone might come over to you and brand you as anti-national or a terrorist.  Okay, last part might be an exaggeration but you get the idea what could happen over there.

Soon, the movie began but with that also began hell lot of munching, chatting and obscene comments. No, this is not a scene from a single screen theatre but of a popular multiplex where only affluent citizens and educated people are expected to shell out hefty money and enjoy the experience of watching a 3D movie. Errr..That’s just the beginning. Lights went off and here comes avalanche of fascinating comments from backseats.  “Do you think that can happen in real?” “That chick looks hot” “I have seen this movie” “Now, the next scene is this…that” “I have a date tonight”. Etc etc.

On one hand, you are trying to concentrate on the movie and dialogue but these ‘experts’ won’t let you do so. Once you get adjusted to their blabbering, you try to refocus on the movie and out of blue, you listen ‘Shakira Shakira, O baby when you dance like that..’. Avatar had ‘Hips don’t lie’ song? Nah, you are mistaken my friend. It’s a ring tone ringing at loudest possible voice. You turn back and try staring at the person carrying the mobile but you find him talking loudly on the phone and his fellow seat-mates have no objection to that! Wow, great beginning.

Okay, this too shall pass away, you repeat in your mind. A peaceful 10 minutes passes when you find yourself in the midst of a genuine anarchy when some little angel starts crying at high decibel. Screw Navi’s! Here is the one little sod who is needed to be teleported to the distant planet. You feel helpless and start praying for kid’s parents to shut the little devil’s mouth.

I will repeat again. Why the hell parents bring their infants to the theater? People are very annoying by nature but children…they are just…No, I love kids but never ever in theater. I assume myself to be a accepting and generous soul but in a theatre where you have gone for some real good experience after shelling out hefty sums on tickets, popcorns and whatever, I start feeling broken.

Constant chattering, ringing cell phones, turbulent kids totally ruin the experience of watching a movie. Personally, I would much rather prefer to watch a movie all alone so that I can breathe it, experience it, be the character, laugh and cry as well. A film demands to be seen closely. I would prefer to analyze it, study it and make my own judgment but it has become almost impossible to witness silent audiences in a packed cinema. Why would I discuss a movie while watching it? I would rather prefer to talk about it after 2-3 hours of rapt attention.

Insensitive banters of kids and adults in the theatre make you miss huge chunks of the film. And bantering is not the only thing here. You are also expected to handle encroachment of your personal space in forms of someone kicking you in the back of your seat, your neighbor forcing his/her wrists on the drinks holder or even someone yawning with his full might! Can you still claim to enjoy sitting at the cinema?

I know, my problems don’t concern you but of all you readers, even if one empathize with me, I will feel much better and liberated, perhaps. So what is the option? Either you go alone or you go when movie is no more the talk of the town or you just get a DVD, start your laptop, switch off your phone and just enjoy the solitude of the movie. Plus, if you are watching a movie weeks or months after its release, you are more likely to be not influenced by critics, newspaper ratings, reviews, friend’s opinions, forced hype, and uncomfortable buzz etc. Applying the logical side of the brain becomes much easier when the hype is dead.

Share

11 Responses to “Why Should You Watch a Movie Alone”

  1. Munazza said

    Your experience made me laugh:D
    I had a similar experience back home with an additional touch added to it. The rotten but still pungent odour of human urine. I mean are you kidding me? who would pee while watching a movie..were the scenes so emotional that you could not control your fluids and they came bursting out of every whole possible…? or is it that theaters dont have washrooms, and people forget to wear their pampers..
    On the contrary North American theaters dnt have that issue..I love watching movies in theaters..they exxagerate the whole experience for me, esp if its a horror movie..coz horror movies are primarily about sound..
    Kudos for such a fresh topic and funny yet truthful post:D

    • Gosh, did you just mention urine?! I guess, that shouldnt surprise me because it does happen in this part of the world, especially in rural hinterland. stains of paan, tobacco etc are also quite common in single screen theaters.
      As always, your comment delighted me. ::D

  2. Nora said

    I agree with you 100% and can sympathize with your experience 100%.

    I hardly ever go to a movie theatre anymore. Maybe once a month and even then it’s hardly bareable and I have a lot of patience. The last time I went some man tried to voice his opinion in a whisper but it was hardly a whisper!

    As for bringing kids to a theatre, if I know my kid is not going to be stick still and quiet for 1:30 to 2 hours, I would not bring them unless they are old enough to know the concept of a movie theatre. Plus, now some theatre have mommy and me times so you can bring your kid then so everyone can scream, talk, do whatever and no one would care.

    Seriously, I’m perfectly fine with my laptop and a few months old movie. I actually understand the movie more…

  3. Chetan said

    You are right. I agree with couple of your view point like Jana Gana Mana’ anthem, as if movie hall is only place left in the country to show our respect towards Her. It is ridiculous & the most important point I think watching movie or going out for movie is more of weekend activity where it dose not matter what is the subject of movie, view point of direction & many other technical things which required to make a theme watchable.

  4. Vikalp said

    I fully agree with you. Though i watch movies in theater randomly, my intentions are never to absorb it or analyse it deeply. For that I would prefer DVDs like you. I watch Priyadarshan style non-sense in theaters where all those noices and special comments actually spice up the environment.
    I have not seen INCEPTION yet only because of the points you have made…waiting for a DVD.
    Really nice post. And with each post you are making the experience of reading this blog more delightful and meaningful.

  5. Vikalp said

    I fully agree with you. Though i watch movies in theater randomly, my intentions are never to absorb it or analyse it deeply. For that I would prefer DVDs just like you. I watch Priyadarshan style non-sense in theaters where all those noises and special comments actually spice up the environment.
    I have not seen INCEPTION yet only because of the points you have made…waiting for a DVD.
    Really nice post. And with each post you are making the experience of reading this blog more delightful and meaningful.

  6. Pankti said

    Pleasant read…caught that little humorous streak in you…
    But a cinema experience can never be compared to a DVD-at-home environment
    I think, expect for the national anthem bit(which i don not mind standing for), other points are valid enough but I am fascinated with the whole experience of sitting in a dark room watching a movie with friends and family with a tub of caramel popcorn !
    IF only, movie tickets were not so expensive!

  7. numbo said

    Okay, this too shall pass away, you repeat in your mind. A peaceful 10 minutes passes when you find yourself in the midst of a genuine anarchy when some little angel starts crying at high decibel.

    *falls from the chair laughing*

  8. You picked a good topic for this post and you wrote about it well. I have seen a couple of other websites with similar content but no 1 has done a better job than you on writing about it.

Leave a Reply

 
