Silent Whispers

Chasing Illusionary Butterflies!

That’s How My Yoga Sojourn Panned out

Posted by Mrityunjay on December 30, 2009

I recently made to a trip to Yoga-Land. Thanks to my friend Rajeev, who did the same course in Hyderabad and his strong recommendations, I was inclined to join this Yoga-program. Well, there were other reasons as well, like my own desire to do something different and Yoga is definitely a ‘different stuff’. The willingness to try out things that I have never done before was already there and add to all these factors my own struggle with spinal issues and lethargy factor.

When I first heard the whereabouts of program, I wasn’t really excited or deeply interested. Rajeev told me about the site, Ishafoundation.org and about the Sadguru. I did my customary googling and felt liking giving it a try. I tried my bit in finding about the Sadguru and his credentials before finally going for the course. He himself wasn’t taking the course but his trained disciples were assigned to do this work in different cities of India.

So finally I walked in at the camp held in a dharamshala in nearby Model Town. I tried analysing presence of co-participants and found most of them were middle aged or old aged persons. For certain time, I was the youngest until I saw this school kid coming. The course was of seven days with 6 days having 3 hours each and Sunday being the full day. By the time, introductory class ended, I was pretty sure I am going to give it a try.

The next few days were about learning Asanas and listening to Sadguru’s videos. I am not sure but there was something very powerful about his speech. He covered a wide range of subjects but the focal point was just one, to raise our consciousness and to find bliss within through responsibility and awareness. He had some divine hypnotic power and that’s why I kept finding myself staring and listening to his each and every word with maximum attention. It wasn’t just a mere ‘Moh-Maya’ gyaan but it was about some really relevant issues of our life. Based on science and the teachings of ancient times, it made every bit of sense and my susceptible mind finally surrendered to his infinite wisdom. It’s hard to exactly write down what he said but I could feel every evening I was walking back to my place in a cheerful state and a strong realisation that he has touched something deep within me. His lectures are there to be experienced and not to be heard from someone like me.

The days consisted of learning new Asanas and finally the day arrived when we were initiated to ‘Sambhavi Maha Mudra’. There was a magical moment when we finally performed this kriya. The entire process is of 21 minutes but that day it took longer than that. The Guru himself initiated us into it and I can never forget the sound of mantra and chanting. It was an exhilarating feeling. He chanted something and trust me, that was the best music that I have ever heard in my life. It sent me in a trance and I was spinning in a different orbit. I keep longing for same music and believe me or not, it was a heavenly feeling.

I don’t know what exactly is done in the initiation process but there are series of Asanas, Yoga, Kriyas and what not. I could feel myself looking at my thoughts separated from my body. The entire practice is quite simple and you may even find it silly but one definitely feels the change after doing it. Personally, I feel more relaxed and energetic. It’s more like a strong current of positive vibrations flowing within you and you just want to hang onto it.

We, the participants also performed Guru Pujja where you throw party to the Guru with flowers, sweets, foods (that contain positive pronic energy) incense and chanting. I am trying my best to continue the Kriya on a regular basis and have plans of doing few more programs from the Isha foundation. The next stage is of ‘Bhaav Spandana’ that is basically a residential program.

All in all, I entered into this program as a doubting Thomas but I came out being a believer. The course has nothing to do with religious beliefs and it is as simple as introducing yourself to the power of Yoga, Meditation and Inner Engineering. But then, after all you are hearing it from the mouth of the flowing bird and you got to be there and experience it. Then perhaps, you will figure out what I am talking about!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

 
